

Media Inquiries:

Andy Radig, Communications Coordinator (920) 236-5269; aradig@oshkoshwi.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oshkosh Media division receives Midwest awards Assistant City Manager Fitzpatrick honored with recognition

OSHKOSH, Wis., May 12, 2025 – Oshkosh Media is proud to announce that staff received nine awards in Wisconsin Community Media's annual <u>Best of the Midwest Media Fest</u> that was held on May 1st, 2025. The Media Fest is an annual competition open to community media centers and their producers in Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, and Kansas. At the same event, Assistant City Manager John Fitzpatrick received WCM's "Friend of Access Award", recognizing his over 25 years of support for community media in Oshkosh. The award honors those who understand, support, and champion community media. Oshkosh Media thanks Mr. Fitzpatrick for his support and contributions that have enhanced Oshkosh Media's services to the community.

The following award-winning programs were produced by Oshkosh Media staff and aired on Oshkosh Media Gov TV, Life TV, and Oshkosh FM 101.9 in 2024:

Awards of Excellence (Gold):

- City Manager Minute
- Oshkosh Fire and Police Department Back to School Special
- Oshkosh State of the City 2024

Awards of Achievement (Silver):

- City Manager's Report "Top 10 of 2024"
- Oshkosh Holiday Parade 2024
- Special Assessments Replacement Plan

Awards of Merit (Bronze):

- Altrusa Art in the Garden PSA
- LWV Candidates Forum for Oshkosh Common Council
- OPD Youth Leadership Camp PSA

In addition to staff winning these awards, local producers also took home some honors. Producer John Nieman received an Award of Excellence for his TV show "The Place to Be Oshkosh." Disabled American Veterans Chapter 17 Winnebago County received an Award of Achievement for their show, "The Outpost." The Oshkosh Ice Hawks hockey team received an Award of Merit for their Season Preview TV show produced by Daryl Duchatschek and Ian Bartlett. Producers Dixie Jarchow, Thomas Cannon & Bill Gillard also received an Award of Merit for their show "Author Showcase of Oshkosh".

Oshkosh Media staff are proud of the teamwork that goes into the creation of these media productions. For more information about the awards or the Oshkosh Media division, please contact Operations Coordinator Jake Timm at (920) 236-5261 or itimm@oshkoshwi.gov.