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This informational sheet is designed to assist you in filing applications to hold alcohol beverage 
licenses. This brief overview does not replace your responsibility to know Oshkosh’s Municipal 
Code Chapter 4 and Chapter 125 of the Wisconsin State Statutes related to alcohol beverage 
licensing requirements.  
 
License Required  
A license is required for anyone wanting to sell, barter, or serve intoxicating liquors or fermented 
malt beverages in a public place. 
 
License Type Alcohol Allowed  Additional Details Hours Annual 

Fees* 
Off Premises Consumption Licenses in original, unopened packaging – Grocery and Alcohol Stores 

Class “A” Beer Beer, Fermented Malt Beverages  
Customers of legal 

drinking age can receive 
up to two free 3 oz 

alcohol samples in-store. 

8am to 
9pm 

 

$100 

Class “A” Liquor Intoxicating Liquor, Wine  $500 

Class “A” 
Combination  

Intoxicating Liquor, Wine, Beer, 
Fermented Malt Beverages 

$600 

On Premises Consumption – Restaurants, Taverns, Pub, Wine Bars 

Class “B” Beer Beer, Fermented Malt Beverages  

Licensed alcohol can be 
sold in its original 

packaging for off-
premises consumption. 

 

Sun. – 
Thurs.: 
6am to 
2am  

Fri. – 
Sat.: 
6am to 
2:30am 

 

$100 

“Class B” Liquor 
Liquor and Wine                          
Only issued with a Class “B” Beer License; See 
combination license below. Quotas apply. 

$500 

“Class B” 
Combination  

Intoxicating liquor, Wine & Beer  $600 

“Class C” Wine Wine $100 

Reserve “Class 
B” Liquor 

Can only be issued once the quota has been reached. 
Oshkosh’s quota is 132.  10 reserve licenses are allowed.   

$10,000 

 

*At application, a nonrefundable $75 publication fee is required. License fees are due upon 
issuance. The license period is July 1 to June 30, with licenses valid from issuance until June 30. 
Initial license fees are prorated based on the issuance month. 
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NEW APPLICATIONS 

Applicant Qualifications 
 Must not have an arrest or conviction record, 

per Wis. Stats. 
111.321,  111.322, 111.335 and 125.12 (1) (b). 

 Be a continuous resident of Wisconsin for at 
least 90 days prior to application. 

 Be of legal drinking age. 
 Must have completed a responsible beverage 

server training course within the last two years, 
or held an alcohol beverage or operator 
license in the past two years. 

Documents Needed at Time of Application: 
 Form AB-200: Original Alcohol Beverage License 

Application. 
 Form AB-100: Auxiliary Questionnaire – Required 

for each person on the application. 
 Form AB-101: Schedule for Appointment of 

Agent – Required for corporations and LLCs. 
 Driver’s License or ID: Copy required for each 

person listed on the application. 
 Proof of Responsible Beverage Server Course: 

Or proof of licensure within the last two years for 
individuals, partners, or agents. 

 Wisconsin Seller’s Permit: Copy required per Wis. 
Stats. 77.61 (11). 

 Economic Impact Statement Form: Required for 
“Class B” applications. 

Application Filing 
 Applications can be filed submitted in person at 

the city clerk’s office. 
 Complete all forms and include required 

documents listed above; incomplete 
applications will not be accepted.  

 If no "Class B" licenses are available, you may 
be able to apply for a Reserve "Class B" license. 

Fee Payment 
 Cash/Check payments are accepted at City 

Hall between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, or by mail 
at Collections, 215 Church Ave, PO Box 1130, 
Oshkosh WI 54903. 

 
 
Reviews 
 Community Development Department checks if 

the business operation complies with current 
zoning. 

 Oshkosh Police Department (OPD) will conduct 
a background check and may advise against 
issuing a license if the applicant has felony or 
misdemeanor convictions related to the 
licensed activity as per §111.335 Wis. Stats. The 
Police Chief may also evaluate the suitability of 
the location for concerns like potential public or 
private nuisances, noise levels, parking, or 
congestion issues. 

 Oshkosh Fire Department (OFD) will inspect the 
premises to ensure compliance with relevant 
fire codes, especially the Wisconsin Fire Code 
SPS 314. Compliance with all fire codes is 
required before the license is issued and must 
be maintained annually. 

 Winnebago Health Department will inspect the 
premises for compliance with health codes and 
the necessary licenses, including the Wisconsin 
Food Code. Compliance with health codes is 
mandatory before a license is granted and 
must be maintained throughout the license 
year. 

Common Council Consideration 
 Applications must be filed at least 15 days 

before Common Council consideration. 
 After all reviews, applications are added to a 

city council agenda. 
 The council can approve, conditionally 

approve, or deny the license. 
 Applicants will be advised of the council's 

decision the day after the meeting.  
 Licenses are considered on a first applied for 

and first ready basis. 
 If conditionally approved, applicants can 

address concerns and once corrections are 
made, licenses can be issued without further 
council approval.
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Renewals 
All alcohol beverage licenses expire on June 30th. 
Renewal information will be sent from the city clerk’s 
office to all expiring license holders in Mid-April.  

 Complete all sections of the application. 
 Submit the application. 
 Pay all required fees.  
 All Combination Class B applicants will meet with 

the Deputy Clerk to ensure the proper license is 
being utilized properly and update business 
location or contact information, if applicable.  

Renewal Review 
The City Clerk’s office ensures your application is 
complete. Once completed and all publication, 
license, and city fees are paid, your application 
goes to: 

 Oshkosh Police Department (OPD): Conducts a 
background check and may suggest denying 
the license if the applicant has relevant felony, 
misdemeanor, or ordinance convictions per 
§111.335 Wis. Stats.  

 Oshkosh Fire Department (OFD): Inspects 
premises for fire code compliance, including the 
Wisconsin Fire Code SPS 314. The applicant must 
comply with fire codes before and during the 
license period. 

 Winnebago Health Department: Inspects 
premises for health code and licensing 
compliance, such as the Wisconsin Food Code. 
Applicants must comply before issuance and 
maintain compliance annually. 

 Community Development Department if you're 
renewing a license without changes to the 
premises, no review by Community 
Development is needed. 

Each department sends their review results to the 
City Clerk. If a review suggests denial or notes non-
compliance or repairs needed, the City Clerk will 
notify you. 

Common Council Consideration  
 Applications must be filed at least 15 days 

before Common Council consideration. 
 After all reviews, applications are added to a 

city council agenda. 
 

 The council can approve, conditionally 
approve, or revoke, suspend or non- renewed as 
provided in section 125.12 of the Wisconsin 
Statutes 

 Applicants will be advised of the council's 
decision the day after the meeting.  

 If conditionally approved, applicants can 
address concerns and once corrections are 
made, licenses can be issued without further 
council approval. 

 

License Surrender 
Surrendering a liquor license involves voluntarily 
relinquishing the rights and privileges associated 
with operating under such a license.  

Reasons for License Surrender 
 Business closure or change in business 

operations. 
 Sale or transfer of business ownership. * 
 Voluntary decision by the license holder to 

cease selling alcoholic beverages. 
Surrendering a Liquor License 
 Contact the city clerk’s office to notify of intent 

to surrender the license. 
 Complete “License Surrender” form indicating 

the date of the surrender and if the license will 
be surrendered outright or conditionally.  

 Officially submit the surrender form and license 
to city clerk staff. 

 *If the license is being surrendered conditionally 
due to a sale or transfer of business ownership, 
the new applicant must be granted a new 
license in order to operate.   

 
We urge all parties involved in such transitions to 
carefully follow these guidelines to ensure a smooth 
and lawful surrender / transfer of the liquor license. 

 
Helpful Links 
 
 DOR - Retail Alcohol Beverage License 

Applications and Miscellaneous Forms 
 Licenses for Retail Sale of Alcohol Beverages - 

Alcohol Beverage Laws - Fact Sheet 3101 
 Alcohol Beverages Retail Licenses – Issue Brief 
 Oshkosh Special Events 

 


